Nature Dreamer

My random thoughts about nature and my life in it.

A few more birds…. May 28, 2013

Saturday we took a drive out to a federal wildlife sanctuary where I got to experience some wonderful birding variety….

While out enjoying some amazing clouds and beautiful views of green grass fields, I ran across a few birds I had not seen ( or heard) in a while. As an birder knows, there is something so magical about stumbling across a bird you have haven’t seen in a while and the thrill you get when seeing( or hearing it!). Here are a sampling of what I saw and heard…..

Ring-necked Pheasant

http://www.allaboutbirds.org/guide/Ring-necked_Pheasant/id

Image

Common Yellowthroat

Image

American Bittern

Image

Red-winged Blackbird

http://www.allaboutbirds.org/guide/Red-winged_Blackbird/id

Red-Winged Blackbird (Male), Colony Farm Regio...

Red-Winged Blackbird (Male), Colony Farm Regional Park, Port Coquitlam, British Columbia (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

 

4 Responses to “A few more birds….”

  1. Reblogged this on The ancient eavesdropper and commented:
    My wife is such a wonderful woman and an excellent birder to boot! I do hope you’ll check out her nature-inspired blog. She is one busy girl, working full-time and taking on-line classes part-time. I couldn’t be prouder of what she’s accomplished so far and feel truly blessed to have found my soulmate in life πŸ™‚

  2. Hi Tyler’s wife. Nice to meet you. πŸ™‚ Enjoyed the pictures.

  3. words4jp Says:

    I do enjoy birding and yes – it is awesome when you stumble across one that has been absent from the eyeballs! In my neck of the woods we have Great Blue Herons – every time I lay eyes on this beauty i have to stop and stare. They are simply majestic. and swans – they are my ultimate favorite creature in the whole wide world (not counting pooches). i can sit and watch them for hours. for hours – I am not kidding.

    Now I must check out your blog – you gots a great hubby and i totally dig his work:)


Leave a Reply

